What if Android emulator fails to start

Today I launched the AVD manager, selected my Android virtual device, clicked on  “Start” and… nothing !

OK, why don’t you want to start, you son of your father ?

Launching it from the command line showed the error message:


C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk-r16\tools>emulator.exe -avd AVD_for_403

C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk-r16\tools>Failed to allocate memory: 8

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.

I had previously increased the virtual device memory from 256 to 1024, but for some reason the emulator was not happy with it. Lowering it to 512 solved my issue:

What I don’t understand is that I have 16GB of RAM on my laptop… if someone knows why I cannot allocate 1025MB , I’m interested !

Laurent KUBASKI

About lkubaski
www.kubaski.com

4 Responses to What if Android emulator fails to start

  1. It’s actually a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  2. mastro says:

    Cause devices will not have 16GB of RAM and if your app need more than 1025MB on the device you are doing something completely wrong

  3. Apparently if you change 1024 to 1024MB it works according to a post in stackoverflow, strange if it does.

Leave a Reply

